Volunteer

Resources for Special Needs Kids

Entry Point for Early Childhood Connections for El Paso and Teller County
Age 0-3 years
The Resource Exchange
125 N. Parkside, Ste 204
Colorado Springs, CO 80909
Referrals: 719-577-9190
www.tre.org

Resources for Young Children and Families
1120 N. Circle Dr., Ste 19
Colorado Springs, CO 80909
Same phone number/combined with The Resource Exchange
www.rycf.org

Early Childhood Connections
The statewide website
www.earlychildhoodconnections.org

Head Start, Early Head Start, Colorado Preschool Program
Community Partnership for Child Development
2330 Robinson St
Colorado Springs, CO 80904
719-635-1536
www.cpcdheadstart.org

Private (pay by insurance, Medicaid) developmental evals, therapy
Child Development Center of Colorado Springs
3090 N. Academy Blvd
Colorado Springs, CO
719-574-8300
www.cdcrehab.com

Memorial Hospital Pediatric Rehab
1400 East Boulder Street
Colorado Springs, CO
719-365-5422

Colorado Department of Education Special Education Services Unit
Child Find Directory (age 3 yrs and up)
Updated July 17, 2007
www.cde.state.co.us/cdesped

El Paso

District 2 Harrison
• Sari Micklewright (719) 579-3248
Fax: (719) 579-3275 smicklewright@hsd2.org
Department of Special Programs 2883 S. Circle Drive Colorado Springs CO 80906
Special Education Director:: Jan Macias (719) 579-3240


District 3 Widefield
• Andrea Waltermire (719) 391-3054
Fax: (719) 391-3052 waltermirea@wsd3.k12.co.us
SA Wilson Preschool 930 Leta Dr Colorado Springs CO 80911
Special Ed. Director: Coyla Dowdell (719) 391-3050


District 8 Fountain
• Sue Malone (719) 382-1699 x 7450
Fax: (719) 382-5782 smalone@ffc8.org
301 E. Iowa Ave Fountain CO 80817
Special Ed. Director: Brian Printz (719) 382-1300


District 11 Colorado Springs
• Susan Warren (719) 328-2875
Fax: (719) 328-2876 WARRENSL@d11.org
1115 N. El Paso Colordo Springs CO 80903
Special Ed. Director: Robert Howell (719) 520-2148


District 12 Cheyenne Mountain
• Christine Davidson (719) 327-2823
Fax: (719) 327-2827 davidson@cmsd.k12.co.us
1805 Preserve Dr. Colorado Springs CO 80906
Special Ed. Director: Dr. Carolena Steen (719) 327-2823


District 20 Academy
• Mary Jeanne Benner-Knopp (719) 234-1755
Fax: (719) 260-6609 mbenner@asd20.org
1110 Chapel Hills Drive Colorado Springs CO 80920
Special Ed. Director: Deb Montgomery (719) 234-1324


District 49 Falcon
• Kim Boyd (719) 494-5751
Fax: (719) 494-8844 kboyd@d49.org
7545 Mohawk Rd. Colorado Springs CO 80908
Special Ed. Director: Chad Wight (719) 495-3601


Lewis Palmer
• Norma Brough (719) 559-0800 x130
Fax: (719) 559-0805 nbrough@lewispalmer.org
790 King’s Deer Point E. Monument, CO 80132
Special Ed. Director: Dr. Laura Douglas (719) 488-4700


Pikes Peak BOCES Member Districts: Big Sandy 100J; Calhan RJ1; Edison 54JT;
Elbert 200; Ellicott 22; Hanover 28; Miami-Yoder 60JT; Peyton 23JT
Pikes Peak
• Denise Hartman (719) 683-2700 x234
Fax: (719) 683-5430 dhartman@ppboces.org
4825 Lorna Place Colorado Springs CO 80915
Special Ed. Director: Archie Neil (719) 622-2083


Ute Pass BOCES Member Districts: Cripple Creek/Victor Re-1; Manitou Springs 14;
Woodland Park RE-2
Cripple Creek/Victor
• Patty Waddle (719) 689-3420
Fax: (719) 689-9236 pwaddle@ccvschools.com
PO Box 897 Cripple Creek CO 80813
Special Education Director/Ute Pass BOCES Coord.: Marcy Mireles (719) 686-2012


Manitou Springs
• Michelle Bechtel (719) 685-2166
Fax: (719) 685-2185 mbechtel@mssd14.org
110 Pawnee Ave Manitou Springs, CO 80829
Director of Special Services: Pat Urban (719) 685-2013


Woodland Park
• Jill Cochran (719) 687-0340
sageandcody@peakinet.net
3198 Blue Mesa Drive Divide, CO 80814
Special Education Director/Ute Pass BOCES Coord.: Marcy Mireles (719) 686-2012